Grab a Hardhat and Bring Some Wine.

So I spent last night putting together my first week of Project Life, and I have to say – it went WAY better than I was expecting. I was thinking it was going to end up a little more – me on the floor, surrounded by paper scraps, no idea of what I was doing, and wine. Lots of wine. And probably a few screeches of frustration followed by tears. I desperately wanted it to look perfect like some of the ones I’ve seen on Pinterest, but I made myself kick back, relax, and enjoy the process.  It ended up being me sitting on the couch, watching TV with Chris, a few paper scraps on the coffee table, and a beer. Better than expected – except for the wine part. I forgot to buy it at the store.

While it may not be perfect, it ended up being perfect for us, and I’m pretty darn happy with it.

Left Side:

Week1-12

Right Side:

Week1-13

And the whole shebang:

Week1-14

I made the “Week one” card in PSE 10. I’m planning to do the same card, in the same spot every week. We walked down to the beach on New Years Day – it was Chris’ first time actually at the water (which is INSANE. We live a block away!!) so we took a picture (or 3) to commemorate.

Week1-18

My “hello twentyfourteen” card was made using this freebie from the amazingly talented Caylee Grey. I pretty much stalk her blog. I downloaded the freebie, and then layered it on top of one of my own photos in PSE. Then I changed the font color to white, and decreased the opacity to make it seem more see-through. I LOVE how it turned out – huge thanks to Caylee for the freebie! The bottom right picture is Chris’ “pic of the week”. You should have seen him chasing the seagull down the beach to get this shot.. it was…. something. Yeah. That’s it. It was something 🙂

Week1-16

And just a few more closeups of the spread:

Week1-15

Week1-17

Week1-18

So a successful completion of Week 1. No frustrated screeches, no tears. (and no wine… I’ll have to fix that for next week.)

 

Nexxxtttt up on the docket:
I’m under construction! I’ve decided to change things up on the blog to make it more my own, and less standard WordPress Theme. Things are gonna be bumpy for a while – so grab a hardhat and some eye protection – but please hang in there! I’m not really sure where this is going to end up, or how long it’s going to take, which is completely typical for me. I appreciate you hanging out with me during construction though! (and if you have any hints, links, or videos on how to do just about anything web design, leave some love in the comment section!)

Ah! one last announcement: I just added a Bloglovin’ button over on the left side of my blog.
Give it a click, and you can get every absurd, coffee fueled update that I decided to throw up on here!

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Grab a Hardhat and Bring Some Wine.

  1. I am so in love with your layout, and not just because you’ve used a freebie of mine 😉 Everything looks so calm and serene. Your week one card makes me wish I had have done something similar for my weekly cards. Gorgeous.

    And good luck for the construction !

  2. Your start to 2014 looks so warm and cozy. I love it.
    I’m still tying up 2013 and waiting for my supplies for 2014 to arrive. I can’t wait to start afresh. I actually wrote about PL today on the blog, I’ve decided to change the parameters a bit to make it a bit less stressful.

Leave a Reply

