“This Is Me” Challenge

My cousin works as an art conservationist at a historic home in Washington D.C. Every few days – via her instagram feed- she gives a glimpse into the past by posting pictures of the collection, or a new piece that was discovered. She is always gushing about how amazing it is to have a front row view of what life was like before there was the internet, twitter, or hell, electricity!

This got me to thinking about documenting my own personal history. Granted, I doubt my apartment in sunny SoCal will ever be a historical sight, but who knows? Maybe one day my kids will wonder about what things were like for us that first year we moved here.

I’ve been pretty good about keeping up with my journal but have been looking for some direction to keep things more organized. I went to my old standby – Pinterest – and found the “This Is Me Challenge”. This blog is busting at the seams with ideas to document your own personal history. The idea is to follow along and answer the challenge questions in any medium you prefer. Some people do scrapbook pages, some people do journal entries, some people take pictures. Whatever inspires you to document your history is the perfect way to do it! Since I was looking for ways to keep my journal going, it seemed obvious to me to make the challenge answers into journal entries. **update: The author of the blog has decided to stop issuing new challenges. She is going to wrap up the blog with 4 more challenges, but will leave the blog online so that people can go back to it and use it for inspiration.**

I started with the first challenge (only makes sense, right?) and made Chris play along. The question was

Challenge #1–If you were forced to go back in time to the olden days, but were allowed to take 10 modern conveniences with you, what would you take?

challenge-1

We had a great time coming up with answers (mine were seriously more practical than his!) and made a few – ahem- allowances if you will. We decided that there had to be electricity, and that you got to keep the clothes you were wearing. That second one sparked by me wanting a bra – wait till you see the rest of my list!

challenge-2

My list:
1. Toilet paper
2. Tampons
3. Deodorant
4. Toothbrush
5. Toothpaste
6. Brita Filter (no one wants to drink nasty water!)
7. Keurig (since we all know I MUST.HAVE.COFFEE)
8. Flashlight – My dad (who always is planning for the end of the world – I think he’s still eating mac&cheese from his Y2K stash) gave us this cool flashlight that doesn’t need batteries. You just shake it and it lights up. The longer you shake it for, the longer it stays lit. Pretty neat!
9. Chapstick – can’t leave home without it!
10. Hairspray

Then, there was this…
challenge-3

Chris’ List:
1. Alien – since clearly, an alien must have brought you back in time. He figured you had to hang on to the alien in order to get back…
2. A Tesla. We decided there would be electricity, so he figured an electric car would make sense.
3. An ipod
4. Deodorant
5. Soap (I appreciated those last two!)
6. Machine gun. (I’m guessing so that he could hunt for food?)
7. Assorted medication (antibiotics, advil, etc.)
8. Air mattress
9. Matches (no rubbing two sticks together for this guy!)
10. Beer

I think it’s hysterical how different our lists are. I mean, an alien and a Telsa, vs. toilet paper and a Brita Filter?? Clearly opposites attract! We had fun working on the lists, and definitely had some rather… spirited debates about the merits of our choices.

I’m planning on continuing with the challenges posted on the blog in order to put together a more orderly, and inspired personal history. Have any of you worked on the “This Is Me Challenge” or documented your own personal history in some way?

One thought on ““This Is Me” Challenge

Leave a Reply

