Dining Area Facelift for $8? Challenge Accepted!

I’ve been feeling a little blah lately. Ya know the feeling? You just feel kind of – gray?

That’s how I’ve been feeling. Just meh.

I decided to make 1 small change in my house that would make me feel better. There’s no point in sitting around being grumpy and not doing anything to fix it – might as well be productive!

Our apartment doesn’t really get any direct sunlight, so it’s always a battle to make the room look bright and airy. Our kitchen table doesn’t help this problem – at all.

It’s a gorgeous dark wood table, but it’s just that. Dark. I wanted to brighten it up without breaking the budget. And I managed to do it. For $8!

Now, don’t get me wrong. This isn’t a massive overhaul by any means, but it makes me feel so much better about the space!

So here we go —->

Before:

Kitchen area before

And After:

Kitchen area before

Doesn’t it just feel better? I got all the crap off of the table (it tends to be my “landing spot” – I’m working on fixing that!), moved the 2 extra chairs to random corners in my living room, and created a gorgeous, but simple, centerpiece with stuff I had around the house. Then I went to the grocery store and picked up the LAST bunch of white tulips (that’s where I spent the $8). I knew it was meant to be!

The centerpiece is a schmodge (made that word up. Love it) of things I had around. I used a khaki placemat, 2 snack plates, and a carafe. All things we got for our wedding, and never touched again! I am super in love with the carafe, but have never had an occasion to use it, so I broke it out and repurposed it as a vase. The snack plates I stacked off-set from each other.

Since it’s kinda my thang, here are a bunch of up-close shots.

white tulips in vase

kitchen do over-9

Tulips up close

kitchen do over-7

inside of tulip

kitchen do over-9

tulip stems in vase

tulips in vase

And there you have it! A quick, budget friendly way to really perk up a blah looking area! I hope you have an amazing weekend, and I’ll see you back here on Monday for some Project Life love!

2 thoughts on “Dining Area Facelift for $8? Challenge Accepted!

    • Isn’t it?! I always claimed to not be a fresh flower person, but I’m quickly re-thinking that! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

