One of The Greatest Things I’ve Ever Done

This past fall, my husband and I drove cross country from Boston to LA. We had an amazing trip – it’s something that we will never forget. I remember looking at him in the car and saying “Hands down this is one of the coolest things we will ever do!” and I’m pretty sure I’m right. It was unbelievable.

Fast forward to 4 months after pulling in to our parking spot here in sunny SoCal. I am just now starting to pull those pictures together and get them in to an album. Granted, this is warp speed considering I haven’t gotten our wedding album, or honeymoon album done yet (almost 2.5 years later…)

I’ve decided to share my progress on our Cross Country album here on the blog as it is happening, rather than when it is all finished. Many of the blogs I follow show gorgeous albums (that I unabashedly swoon over) all perfectly finished, but rarely do you see the trial and error and time that went in to making it look so lovely.

I started working on it last night, and because my neighbors upstairs were having an absurdly loud dinner party at 11:45pm on a Tuesday night I couldn’t sleep, I spent a LOT of time on Pinterest finding quotes and filler cards. Chris had already mentioned that the spreads are a bit of a visual assault (he put it much nicer, promise!), so I think I’m going to be adding in more filler cards and spreading out the layouts more.

Ok, time to get my thoughts in order.
Supplies:
-Project Life 12×12 camera album
-Design A  pocket protectors
-Project Life Midnight Core Kit
-Project Life Seafoam Core Kit
-Pictures (LOTS of them!)
-Lightroom
-Photoshop Elements 10

Here is the first round of layouts.

Project Life Cross country album, Boston spread

Project Life Cross country album, Boston spread

Project Life Cross country album, NY spread

Project Life Cross country album, NY spread

Project Life Cross country album, OH spread

Project Life Cross country album, IN spread

Project Life Cross country album, IL spread

Project Life Cross country album, MO spread

Project Life Cross country album, Last page

 

Funny story: Chris and I were looking at my first Boston page last night, and both knew something was wrong, but couldn’t quite figure out what. Then all of the sudden (as we both have our heads sideways) he goes “There’s water in the middle of the buildings!”. Ooooopsss.. Guess who measured and cut wrong.. I’ll be fixing that thankyouverymuch!

I have MA – MO printed and in the book, as well as the final page (the lifeguard stand on the beach). I like having the license plates from each state in the book, it helps to set up which state we’re looking at, and reminds me of playing the license plate game on the trip (the only one we didn’t get was Hawaii).

I definitely want to add in more filler cards to attempt to make each state at least a 2 page spread. I also have to add in the coasters I grabbed from some of the places we stopped to eat (cross country pub crawl for the win!) and I think I have hotel keycards from some of the places we stayed. I need to go digging!

In the meantime, I created a board on pinterest full of quotes and things I want to add to the pages. I also decided that I want to learn hand lettering, so I’m going to use this book as an excuse to practice. I’m thinking I might re-write all of the quotes by hand that I want to use as filler cards.. This might be a long project! 🙂

Wooo! Alright, round one, done and done.

Have a great day!

Leave a comment